A Grand Return of David Bowie in ‘The Next Day’

See ‘The Next Day’ album track list, cover, single…

On his 66th birthday, David Bowie has making a big surprise.. His official website announces the release of his new studio album, the twenty-fourth, and the first in a decade, entitled ‘The Next Day’. It will be released on March. A music video also being released for its first single ‘Where Are We Now?’, where you can watch it below.

A press release from Columbia Records says the record, produced by long-term collaborator Tony Visconti and written by Bowie, was recorded in New York, Columbia said. The single is accompanied by a video directed by multimedia and installation artist Tony Oursler that harks back to David’s time in Berlin. In the video David is seen looking in on footage of the auto repair shop beneath the apartment where he lived in Berlin during 1977, along with stark images of the city at the time.

The press release added that David Bowie is the sort of artist who “writes and performs what he wants when he wants…when he has something to say as opposed to something to sell. Today he definitely has something to say.”

‘The Next Day’ Release Date

  • March 8, 2013 (AUS)
  • March 11, 2013 (UK)
  • March 12, 2013 (US)

Pre-order the album now on iTunes (US/Digital) or Amazon (UK/Vinyl)

‘The Next Day’ Track List.

  1. The Next Day [3:51]
  2. Dirty Boys [2:58]
  3. The Stars (Are Out Tonight) [3:56]
  4. Love Is Lost [3:57]
  5. Where Are We Now? [4:08]
  6. Valentine’s Day [3:01]
  7. If You Can See Me [3:16]
  8. I’d Rather Be High [3:53]
  9. Boss of Me [4:09]
  10. Dancing Out in Space [3:24]
  11. How Does the Grass Grow [4:33]
  12. (You Will) Set the World On Fire [3:30]
  13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die [4:41]
  14. Heat [4:25]
  15. So She [2:31]
  16. I’ll Take You There [2:44]
  17. Plan [2:34]

Total length approx – Standard [53:14] / Deluxe [61:03]

As of now, there are no plans for live dates to support the new single and album. Stay informed with us for future updates. The album’s single ‘Where Are We Now?’ also available on iTunes. It soon topped the iTunes charts in several countries in its first day of release. Go buy it!

Complete and exclusive information on DavidBowie.com

The album cover designed by Jonathan Barnbrook, adapted from Bowie’s 1977 album “Heroes”, with white layer covering of the original photo that connotes “forgetting or obliterating the past”.


Leave a comment

Filed under Album Title, Cover Art, Music Video, New Song, Release Date, Track List

Give a Response

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s